NovelAI vs Inkfluence AI is not a close contest, because the two tools do different jobs: NovelAI is a paragraph-by-paragraph fiction co-writer with no content filter, while Inkfluence AI is a book generator that takes you from outline to EPUB, audiobook and storefront. Pick NovelAI if you want to write every sentence of an adult or dark novel yourself with a fast collaborator; pick Inkfluence if you want a structured nonfiction book finished and packaged. If you want a complete manuscript without a monthly bill, Chapter (the tool we build) is the third option, and we explain below exactly where both of these beat it.

In this comparison you’ll get:

  • A side-by-side table built from both vendors’ own pricing and documentation pages, checked 22 September 2026
  • The real difference in how each tool writes, remembers and restricts your story
  • An honest section on where NovelAI and Inkfluence each beat Chapter

Here is the short version first.

NovelAI vs Inkfluence AI at a Glance

NovelAI and Inkfluence AI differ in unit of work. NovelAI writes the next passage; Inkfluence writes the next chapter. Everything else in the table follows from that one design choice.

NovelAIInkfluence AIChapter (Our Product)
What it isFiction co-writer + anime image generatorEnd-to-end book generatorComplete-manuscript generator
Free optionPaper trial: 50 text generations, one-time5 chapters + 5 more each monthNone (30-day money-back guarantee)
Paid pricing$10 / $15 / $25 per month$9.99/mo or $89/yr; $19.99/mo or $179/yr$97 one-time (nonfiction)
Text volumeUnlimited on every paid tier35 chapters/mo (Creator), unlimited (Premium)Full manuscripts
Flagship modelXialong (GLM-4.6 fine-tune), Opus onlyNot disclosedNot a user-selectable setting
Context28,672 tokens + 8,192 rollover (Xialong)Last three chapters in full + a record of the rest (vendor claim)Structure held outside the model
ExportStory text onlyPDF (free); PDF, EPUB, DOCX (paid)KDP-ready files
AudiobookNo (text-to-speech playback only)Yes, paid tiers, ACX-compatible (vendor claim)Not in published feature list
Explicit contentNo content filterBarred from public Showcase; private rules unclearWrites dark and adult fiction
Trains on your workNo (stories encrypted)No (per its terms)See Chapter’s own policy

Sources: NovelAI subscription docs, NovelAI text model docs, Inkfluence AI pricing and Inkfluence AI terms. Chapter’s details come from our own product pages.

What Is the Difference Between NovelAI and Inkfluence AI?

The difference between NovelAI and Inkfluence AI is who does the writing. On NovelAI, you write and the model continues a paragraph at a time, so every sentence passes through your hands. On Inkfluence, you choose a book type and concept, and the platform drafts whole chapters for you to react to.

That makes NovelAI a writing instrument and Inkfluence a production line. Neither is a worse version of the other.

NovelAI gives you Memory, an Author’s Note and a keyword-triggered Lorebook to steer continuity, plus sampling controls most tools hide. Our full NovelAI review covers those systems in depth.

Inkfluence gives you templates across what it calls 33 book types, from novels and cookbooks to workbooks and devotionals, then a cover designer, export, narration and translation. Our Inkfluence AI review covers the blueprint system itself.

The practical test is simple. If you would feel robbed by a tool that writes a chapter without asking you, choose NovelAI. If you would feel relieved, choose Inkfluence or Chapter.

Which Is Better for Fiction?

NovelAI is better for fiction you want to write yourself; Inkfluence is better for fiction you want drafted for you. NovelAI’s models are fine-tuned on fiction and write in a fiction register. Inkfluence supports novels but was clearly designed around structured nonfiction formats.

In March 2026 NovelAI released Xialong, a fine-tune of ZhipuAI’s 355-billion-parameter GLM-4.6. Its docs credit Xialong with “genuinely different outcomes on retries” and better name variety, both long-standing complaints about older NovelAI models.

The catch: the subscription docs list Xialong as an Opus exclusive. On the $10 and $15 tiers you are working with older models such as Erato and Kayra. That tier gap is covered line by line in our NovelAI pricing breakdown.

Inkfluence says its fiction mode keeps “the last three chapters in full” plus a running record, with continuity checks on names, point of view, timeline and open threads. We could not independently verify how well that holds across a long novel. Treat it as a vendor claim until you test it.

If sentence-level voice is the point of your novel, neither tool is the obvious winner. Sudowrite is a strong third contender here; see Sudowrite vs NovelAI for that matchup.

Which Handles Continuity Across a Long Book?

NovelAI handles continuity through manual tools you configure; Inkfluence handles it automatically. NovelAI shows you exactly what entered the model’s context and lets you fix it. Inkfluence decides for you and does not publish how.

Xialong’s documented window is 28,672 tokens plus an 8,192-token rollover. That is roughly 20,000 words of recent story, a big jump over the 8,192-token windows of Kayra and Clio. Everything older has to live in your Lorebook.

That is real work. It is also auditable work, because NovelAI’s Context Viewer shows which entries made it into each generation.

Inkfluence removes the labour but also the visibility. Its model is not named anywhere on its pricing or home page, and its terms say only that it relies on third-party “AI model providers.” You cannot tell which model is writing your book.

Our advice for both: test chapter nine, not chapter one. Openings are easy. The middle is where a tool shows whether it remembers what chapter three established.

Which Is Better for Nonfiction and Publishing?

Inkfluence AI is clearly better for nonfiction and publishing. NovelAI has no nonfiction mode, no manuscript export beyond story text, no cover designer and no audiobook pipeline. Inkfluence has all of those.

On Inkfluence’s paid tiers you get PDF, EPUB and DOCX export, audiobook narration (it advertises ACX-compatible files for ACX, Audible’s publishing platform), translation and direct selling through Etsy and Gumroad. Its pricing page lists 5 translations a month on Creator and 15 on Premium.

NovelAI stops when the prose stops. Getting a NovelAI draft onto Amazon means assembling a separate stack; our guide to AI book formatting tools shows what that looks like.

Whichever you choose, Amazon requires you to disclose AI-generated text when you publish. Read the KDP content guidelines and our summary of Amazon KDP rules for AI books before you upload.

Which Is Better for Adult or Dark Fiction?

NovelAI is better for adult and dark fiction, and it is not close. NovelAI has no content filter and states that it does not train on your stories. Inkfluence’s terms bar sexually explicit material and graphic gore from its public Showcase.

Inkfluence’s terms also block sexual content involving minors and “sexual content involving non-consent presented approvingly,” with violations “blocked, logged” and possibly leading to termination. Whether explicit adult fiction is allowed in private, unpublished projects is not stated clearly. We could not verify it.

If your work is horror, grimdark or explicit romance, that uncertainty alone is a reason to start with NovelAI. The question of whether NovelAI is trustworthy with that material is covered in our NovelAI review.

How Much Do NovelAI and Inkfluence AI Cost?

NovelAI costs $10, $15 or $25 per month on novelai.net; Inkfluence AI costs $9.99 or $19.99 per month, or $89 and $179 billed yearly. NovelAI offers no annual discount. Both are subscriptions, and both are non-refundable once used under their stated terms, with an EU/UK cooling-off exception noted by Inkfluence.

Cost over timeNovelAI OpusInkfluence Premium (annual)Chapter (nonfiction)
Year 1$300$179$97
Year 2$600$358$97
Year 3$900$537$97

We used Opus because Xialong, NovelAI’s best writing model, sits there. Scroll at $15 is the cheaper realistic tier if Erato is enough for you.

Inkfluence also sells credit packs that never expire: 15 chapters for $9.99, 25 for $12.99 and 50 for $24.99. Those only matter once you exceed your plan’s chapter limit.

The question neither vendor’s pricing page answers is how long your book will take. A subscription charges for months, not books. If life stalls your draft for a year, you pay for that year either way.

Our Product — Chapter

Chapter builds a book’s structure first, then generates the full manuscript against it: 80 to 250 page nonfiction books in about an hour, and fiction from 20,000 to 120,000+ words using frameworks like Save the Cat and the Romance Beat Sheet. It exports KDP-ready files and includes cover tools.

Best for: authors who want a finished manuscript and do not want a subscription running while they edit. Pricing: $97 one-time (nonfiction) | Varies (fiction) Why we built it: more than 2,147 authors have used Chapter to create over 5,000 books, and the most common story we heard was paying monthly for a tool while the book sat unfinished.

Where NovelAI and Inkfluence AI Beat Chapter

NovelAI and Inkfluence AI each beat Chapter in specific, real ways. We sell a competitor, so weigh this accordingly, but these points are not token concessions. If several describe you, buy one of them instead.

Inkfluence has a genuine free tier; Chapter has none. Five chapters plus five more every month, with no card, is a better way to evaluate than our 30-day money-back guarantee. A guarantee still asks you to pay first. NovelAI’s free Paper trial also costs nothing to start.

Inkfluence goes further downstream than Chapter. Audiobook narration, translation into dozens of languages, and direct selling on Etsy and Gumroad are not in Chapter’s published feature list. If you want an ebook, an audiobook and a Spanish edition from one login, Inkfluence does more of that job than we do.

Inkfluence covers more book formats. Recipe books, lesson plans, devotionals and illustrated picture books each get their own templates. Chapter handles nonfiction and fiction manuscripts, not illustrated children’s books with 50 AI images a month.

NovelAI gives you sentence-level authorship. Chapter generates at the chapter level, so you edit a draft rather than approve each paragraph. Writers for whom voice is everything will prefer NovelAI’s loop, and they are right to.

NovelAI’s continuity tools are more transparent. The Lorebook’s token budgets and Context Viewer let you see and control what the model remembers. Chapter holds your structure inside the project but does not expose context assembly like that.

NovelAI is more predictable for extreme content. Chapter will write dark and adult fiction, but NovelAI’s explicit no-filter stance is the safer bet against refusals at the edges of horror and erotica.

NovelAI bundles an image generator. Character references and mood boards come included. Chapter’s cover tools are for covers, not an art studio.

Where Chapter Beats Both

Chapter beats both on total cost and on finishing. At $97 once, Chapter is cheaper than Inkfluence Premium from year one and cheaper than NovelAI Opus by month four. It never charges you for the months you are not writing.

Chapter also starts from structure. NovelAI will help you write 30,000 beautifully voiced words that go nowhere; Chapter plans the beats and the ending before prose exists. Our Chapter vs NovelAI comparison goes deeper on that trade.

And unlike Inkfluence, Chapter treats fiction and nonfiction as separate products with separate frameworks, rather than one generator with a template library. For novelists, that matters. That separation is the reason Chapter’s fiction drafts follow genre beat structures rather than a general book template.

The Verdict

Choose NovelAI if you write fiction yourself, want a fast fiction-tuned collaborator, need no content filter, and will pay $25 a month for Xialong.

Choose Inkfluence AI if you are producing structured nonfiction, picture books or cookbooks, and want export, audiobook and translation in one subscription. Start on the free tier.

Choose Chapter if you want a complete, structured manuscript, fiction or nonfiction, and would rather pay once than rent a tool for as long as your book takes. That is the reader we built it for.

Still weighing other tools? Our is Inkfluence AI legit investigation cover the rest of the field.

FAQ

Is NovelAI better than Inkfluence AI?

NovelAI is better than Inkfluence AI for self-written fiction, especially adult or dark genres, because it continues your prose passage by passage with no content filter. Inkfluence AI is better for structured nonfiction and publishing, since it drafts full chapters and exports EPUB, DOCX and audiobooks.

Can Inkfluence AI write fiction like NovelAI?

Inkfluence AI can write fiction, but it drafts whole chapters rather than continuing your paragraphs, so you get less sentence-level control than NovelAI. It claims a story bible and continuity checks on names, timeline and point of view. Explicit content is barred from its public Showcase, and private-project rules are unclear.

Which is cheaper, NovelAI or Inkfluence AI?

Inkfluence AI is cheaper at the top tier: $19.99 a month or $179 a year for unlimited chapters, against $25 a month for NovelAI Opus with no annual discount. At entry level they are similar, $9.99 versus $10. Chapter costs $97 one-time for nonfiction.

Does NovelAI or Inkfluence AI train on my writing?

Neither NovelAI nor Inkfluence AI says it trains on your writing. NovelAI states it does not train on user stories and stores them encrypted. Inkfluence’s terms say it does not use your content to train AI models, but it does send content to third-party AI model providers it does not name.

Can I publish books from NovelAI or Inkfluence AI on Amazon?

You can publish books from either tool on Amazon KDP, but only Inkfluence AI exports KDP-ready EPUB, DOCX and PDF files. NovelAI outputs story text you must format elsewhere. Either way, Amazon requires you to disclose AI-generated content during upload.